Migros

Web based Store Planning

Web based Store Planning Tool for Migros

The Migros-Genossenschafts-Bund creates and maintains tools for the store planning divisions of all Migros cooperatives. MGB chose mp technology as the technology partner for the concept and implementation of a new web-based Intranet solution, which replaces a large number of check-lists and Excel sheets with a centralized modern multi-user system. mp technology was responsible for the requirements analysis, specification, system architecture, implementation and maintenance of the solution.

Retail Store Planner Tool

The Retail Store Planner Tool is used throughout the Migros Group for the complete planning process when remodeling existing stores or building new ones. The centralized system is connected to several company internal information systems, to make sure that area data and revenue data of existing stores, as well as assortment data and strategic values, are updated on a daily basis.
The users access the system through a modern web interface, where they use a tab layout to view the different steps of the planning process, switching back and forth between the different levels. The UI was designed in a way that data can be compared in a configurable depth of detail, supporting data comparison between plan data, existing stores and strategic revenue values in a simple way, while allowing the user to keep an overview of the overall process.

The solution was implemented in 2012. Next to its user friendly interface and the unified processes, the tool allows Migros to implement new strategies quickly – a capability which is a clear advantage in today’s competitive market environment.

Approach

The Retail Store Planner project started with a short concept phase with several full day workshops and was continued with a Scrum-like development process. The iterative, agile process allowed the team to clarify specification details during the iterations and it was possible to adapt the project to changes in the interfaces and the requirements quickly whenever necessary. The customer was actively involved in the prioritisation process and through the iterative testing approach the customer project manager was always well informed about the project status and progress.

Technology

The Retail Store Planner was implemented as a web application with the open source UI framework Vaadin. Vaadin offers a highly productive development process for complex web applications. The requirements regarding usability and performance of the application were high, because the former solution had been based on Microsoft Excel, which has a lot of built-in productivity features. The development with Vaadin in pure Java was very efficient, compared to classical web development with HTML/CSS/Javascript, because a large number of pre-built Vaadin UI widgets was used.

Migros

Flächenplanung von Filialen

Zentrales Web-basiertes Planungswerkzeug für Migros Flächenplaner

Der Migros-Genossenschafts-Bund stellt Planungs­werkzeuge für die Flächenplanungsteams aller Migros Genossenschaften zur Verfügung. Der MGB hat mp technology als Technologiepartner für die Konzipierung und Umsetzung einer web-basierten Intranet-Lösung gewählt. Diese ersetzt eine Vielzahl von Checklisten und Excel Sheets durch ein zentrales, modernes Mehrbenutzer-System. mp technology zeichnet verantwortlich für Businessanalyse und Spezifikation, Systemarchitektur, Implementierung, sowie Wartung und Support der Lösung.

Verkaufsstellenplaner Tool

Die Verkaufsstellenplaner-Applikation wird in der Migros Gruppe für den kompletten Planungsprozess bei Filialumbauten und Neubauten verwendet. Das zentralisierte System ist mit mehreren firmen­internen Informations­systemen verbunden, damit Flächendaten und Umsatz­zahlen bestehender Filialen, Sortimentsdaten sowie strategische Vorgaben jeweils tagesaktuell vorhanden sind.
Die Benutzer können mittels einer modernen Web-Oberfläche mit einem Tab-Layout einfach auf die verschiedenen Schritte des Planungsprozesses zugreifen und nach Belieben Hin und Her wechseln, um die verschiedenen Aspekte zu vergleichen. Die Benutzeroberfläche wurde so gestaltet, dass die Daten in einer konfigurierbaren Detail­tiefe dargestellt werden können. So ist ein schneller, einfacher Vergleich zwischen bestehenden Filialen und strategischen Umsatzzahlen möglich. Und der Benutzer hält über das Gesamtprojekt immer den Überblick.

Die 2012 umgesetzte Lösung bietet der Migros mit einer bedienungsfreundlichen Oberfläche und vereinheitlichten Prozessen die Möglichkeit, schnell neue Strategien umzusetzen, was im kompetitiven Marktumfeld einen Vorteil bedeutet.

Vorgehen

Das Verkaufsstellenplaner Projekt wurde nach einer kurzen Konzeptphase mit mehreren ganztägigen Storyboard-Workshops mit einem Scrum Entwicklungsprozess umgesetzt. Der iterative, agile Prozess hat es erlaubt, die Spezifikation während der Projektphase weiter zu verfeinern und auf neue Anforderungen und Anpassungen bei Schnittstellen zu Umsystemen zeitnah einzugehen. Der Kunde wurde aktiv in die Priorisierung der Arbeiten eingebunden und war durch iteratives Testing über den Fortschritt des Projekts stets im Bild.

Technologie

Der Verkaufsstellenplaner wurde als Web Applikation mit dem Open Source Java Framework Vaadin umgesetzt. Vaadin ermöglicht die effiziente Umsetzung von komplexen Web Oberflächen. Die Anforderungen an die Bedienbarkeit und Performance der Benutzeroberfläche waren hoch, da die Benutzer in der vorherigen Lösung mit Microsoft Excel gearbeitet hatten. Die Entwicklung der Benutzeroberfläche mit Vaadin in reinem Java war deutlich schneller, als eine klassische Web Entwicklung mit HTML/CSS/Javascript, weil viele bestehende Vaadin Komponenten und Widgets eingesetzt werden konnten.